
           
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

CARBON MONOXIDE & SMOKE DETECTOR AFFIDAVIT 

 

State of New York }       Sec. ______ Blk. ______Lot. ______ 

   ss: 

County of Suffolk  } 

 

I/we are ______________________________________________________________ the Owner(s) of real  

 

property located at _______________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

The premise described is a one or two family dwelling and is classified as an R3 occupancy by the 2010 Fire Code 

of New York State.  

 

I/we hereby attest and affirm that, in accordance with the provisions of §610 of the 2010 Fire Code of New York 

State, that carbon monoxide detector(s) have been installed, maintained, and are in operable condition within each 

dwelling unit or sleeping unit located within the above referenced structure where carbon monoxide producing 

equipment is located.   

 

I/we attest and affirm that, in accordance with the provisions of §704 of the 2010 Property Maintenance Code of 

New York State, that smoke detectors have been installed, maintained, provided with an appropriate power source, 

and are in operable condition in the following locations: 

 

1) On the ceiling or wall outside each separate sleeping area in the immediate vicinity of bedrooms.  

2) In each room used for sleeping purposes. 

3) In each story within (all) dwelling unit(s), including basements and cellars, while excluding crawl spaces, 

and uninhabitable attics.  

or 

I/we attest and affirm that, in accordance with §R313.1 of the 2010 Residential Code of New York State, a 

residential fire alarm system with central station interconnection has been installed throughout the premise, and is in 

proper working order. 

 

This affidavit is submitted in accordance with NYS Executive Law §37B, as modified by the current requirements 

of the 2010 Fire Code of New York State. 

 

This affidavit is signed and submitted by the owner(s). 

 

Dated: ______________________                Signature: _______________________________ 

 

        Name (print): _______________________________ 

Sworn before me this ____ day of __________ 20_____ 
             
_____________________________________________          **MUST BE SUBMITTED WITHIN 30 DAYS OF INSPECTION** 

    Notary Public 
 

FALSE STATEMENTS MADE HEREIN ARE PUNISHABLE AS A CLASS A MISDEMEANOR PURSUANT 

TO SECTION 210.45 OF THE PENAL LAW OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK 

 

Department of Public Safety  

Division of Rental Permits 

Town Hall ● 100 Main Street 

Huntington, NY 11743-6991 

 

                     Phone: (631) 351-3008 

                         Fax: (631) 351-7160 



 
 
 
 
 

Carbon Monoxide Detection Requirements: 2010 Fire Code of New York State (One-family dwellings)  

610.3.1.1 Buildings constructed on or after January 1, 2008. 

610.3.1.1.1 A carbon monoxide alarm shall be provided on each story containing a sleeping area, within 15 feet of the 

sleeping area. More than one carbon monoxide alarm shall be provided where necessary to assure that no sleeping area on 

such story is more than 15 feet away from a carbon monoxide alarm. 

610.3.1.1.2 A carbon monoxide alarm shall be provided on each story that contains a carbon monoxide source. 

610.3.1.2 Buildings constructed prior to January 1, 2008. A carbon monoxide alarm shall be provided on the lowest story 

containing a sleeping area, within 15 feet of the sleeping area. More than one carbon monoxide alarm shall be provided 

where necessary to assure that no sleeping area on such story is more than 15 feet away from a carbon monoxide alarm. 

 

Carbon Monoxide Detection Requirements:  (Two-family dwellings, townhouses, condos, co-ops.) 

610.3.2.1 Buildings constructed on or after January 1, 2008. Within each dwelling unit: 

610.3.2.1.1 A carbon monoxide alarm shall be provided on every story containing a sleeping area, within 15 feet of the 

sleeping area. More than one carbon monoxide alarm shall be provided where necessary to assure that no sleeping area on 

such story is more than 15 feet away from a carbon monoxide alarm. 

610.3.2.1.2 A carbon monoxide alarm shall be provided on every story that contains a carbon monoxide source. 

610.3.2.2 Buildings constructed prior to January 1, 2008. Within each dwelling unit, a carbon monoxide alarm shall be 

provided on the lowest story containing a sleeping area, within 15 feet of the sleeping area. More than one carbon monoxide 

alarm shall be provided where necessary to assure that no sleeping area on such story is more than 15 feet away from a 

carbon monoxide alarm. 

 

Smoke Detection Requirements: 2010 Property Maintenance Code of New York State  

(1&2 Family dwellings, townhouses, condos, co-ops.) 

704.2 Smoke alarms. Single or multiple-station smoke alarms shall be installed and maintained in Groups R-3.... (1&2 

Family Dwellings).... regardless of occupant load at all of the following locations:  

1. On the ceiling or wall outside of each separate sleeping area in the immediate vicinity of bedrooms. 

2. In each room used for sleeping purposes. 

3. In each story within a dwelling unit, including basements and cellars but not including crawl spaces and uninhabitable 

attics. In dwellings or dwelling units with split levels and without an intervening door between the adjacent levels, a smoke 

alarm installed on the upper level shall suffice for the adjacent lower level, provided that the lower level is less than one full 

story below the upper level. 

 

704.3 Power source. In Group R occupancies (Residential) and in dwellings not regulated as Group R occupancies, single-

station smoke alarms shall receive their primary power from the building wiring, provided that such wiring is served from a 

commercial source and shall be equipped with a battery backup. Smoke alarms shall emit a signal when the batteries are 

low. Wiring shall be permanent and without a disconnecting switch other than as required for overcurrent protection.  

Exception: Smoke alarms are permitted to be solely battery operated in buildings where no construction is taking place, 

buildings that are not served from a commercial power source and in existing areas of buildings undergoing alterations or 

repairs that do not result in the removal of interior wall or ceiling finishes exposing the structure, unless there is an attic, 

crawl space or basement available which could provide access for building wiring without the removal of interior finishes. 

 

704.4 Interconnection. Where more than one smoke alarm is required to be installed within an individual dwelling unit in 

Group ....R-3, ....(1&2 Family Dwellings)  the smoke alarms shall be interconnected in such a manner that the activation of 

one alarm will activate all of the alarms in the individual unit. The alarm shall be clearly audible in all bedrooms over 

background noise levels with all intervening doors closed. Exceptions:  

1. Interconnection is not required in buildings which are not undergoing alterations, repairs or construction of any kind. 

2. Smoke alarms in existing areas are not required to be interconnected where alterations or repairs do not result in the 

removal of interior wall or ceiling finishes exposing the structure, unless there is an attic, crawl space or basement 

available which could provide access for interconnection without the removal of interior finishes. 

 

2010 Residential Code of New York State  

R313.1 Smoke detection and notification. All smoke alarms shall be listed in accordance with UL 217 and installed in 

accordance with the provisions of this code and the household fire warning equipment provisions of NFPA 72.  Household 

fire alarm systems installed in accordance with NFPA 72 that include smoke alarms, or a combination of smoke detector 

and audible notification device installed as required by this section for smoke alarms, shall be permitted.  (If a low voltage 

central station alarm system is installed single station devices are not required.) 

 


