Town Clerk

Town Clerk Links
Contact Print

Marriage Licenses

Important Links

Marriage Officiants in Nassau and Suffolk Counties (PDF)
Getting Married in New York State
New York State Domestic Relations Law

Marriage License Worksheet


Applying for a Marriage License

A couple that intends to be married in New York State must apply in person for a marriage license to any Town Clerk or City Clerk. The application for a license must be signed by both parties in the presence of the Town or City Clerk. (A representative cannot apply for the license on behalf of the applicants even if the representative has been given the Power of Attorney.) 

The Huntington Town Clerk’s Office hours are Monday – Friday (8:30 am – 4:15 pm).

Remember to bring the following Documents at the time you Apply:

A. Current form of ID: (one of the following) 
   • Driver License
   • Non Driver’s ID
   • Passport
   • Immigration Record



Proof of Age: (one of the following). You must be at least 18 years of age.    (In 2021 New York State Law changed to eliminate parental consent and a court order for those individuals who are 17 years old).

   • Original or Certified Copy of Birth Certificate with official seal
   • Original or Certified Copy of  Baptismal Record
   • Naturalization Record

C. Proof of Divorce or Death: (previously married applicants) 
   • Certified Copy or Original Divorce Papers for each Divorce with official seal
   • Original or Certified Copy of Death Certificate with official seal

D. Second Ceremony: Couples who were married in New York State, other states or countries who wish to obtain a marriage license for a second ceremony (civil or religious) must provide an original or certified copy of their Certificate of Marriage. 

E.  Application Fee: $40 (Forty Dollars). A personal check, bank check, business check, money order or cash is accepted. A penalty of  twenty dollars ($20) shall be charged to the maker of a check returned for insufficient funds. ATM/Debit Cards and Credit Cards are accepted over the counter. If you choose to use an ATM/Debit Card or Credit Card you will incur an additional $2.50 convenience fee charged by VitalChek Network (not the Town) that will appear on your monthly bank statement. F. Foreign Documents: If you are submitting documentary proof required above in a foreign language, it must be accompanied by written certified translation on which appears the notarized signature of the Translator. (Please be advised that foreign documents without a notarized translation will not be accepted.) 



Is there a Waiting Period? Yes. Although the marriage license is issued immediately, the marriage ceremony may not take place within 24-hours from the exact time that the license was issued. (Waiting period does not apply to Second Ceremonies).

How long is the license valid? A marriage license is valid for 60 days, beginning the day after it is issued. For Active Military it is valid for 180 days the day after it is issued.

Who can perform a ceremony? It is the responsibility of the couple to engage a marriage officiant pursuant to the guidelines in New York State Domestic Relations Law.

Additional Questions? Please contact the Town Clerk's office at (631) 351-3206.